What is the minimum automobile bodily injury liability coverage victims can claim in TN?

What is the minimum automobile bodily injury liability coverage victims can claim in TN?

I am the victim in a collision and the driver at fault has insurance. In TN, all auto insurance policy holders have a minimum bodily injury coverage of claims up to $25,000 per individual and $50,000 per accident. My medical bills are getting very high, so my question is: Can I claim up to the $50,000 limit because I was the only victim, or is my limit $25,000?

Who

The insurance covers up to whatever he has listed, if he has the minimum it should mean you are covered up to 25,000. However, this does not mean that you are incapable of suing for more than this should the accident be their fault, this is just the legally required minimum coverage to cover most situations.The 50,000 limit is for multiple victims in an accident, the 25,000 is per individual as it is written. So if 5 people were in the accident, it still covers only 50,000, and the 5 people would have end up splitting it if it had to be that way.Source(s):I actually paid attention when I got my car insurance, talking to an agent and figuring out what to get myself for liability.

Mushu

If he has a limit of 25,000, that's the most the insurance company will pay you. The 50,000 limit is for more than one 'victim' ( I hate that word used in conjunction with an accident, they call it an 'accident' for a reason). There is a possibility that the at fault party could have more than the state required minimum.

Ask

insurance

Popular Q&A

Where can i find the car insurance rates by state?
The American Automobile Association is the only group that I know of compiling such information.

Do I have to sell my car in order to get a diminshed value claim in the state of Arizona?
What does your agent say? It's possible Arizona doesn't do dimunition of value. Check on the law, by discussing it with your agent.AND, go to a local auto consignment dealer. Ask them how much they could sell your car for, and then tell them about the accident, and how much they could...

How do i switch my auto insurance policy before my term is up?
You call or write your current agent and ask to cancel the policy on the date you want. (You may have to do this in writing- many companies won't accept a spoken request, for their protection and yours.) Make sure it's the same date that the new one starts so there's no gap.You may be penailzed...

How much auto insurance do you really need?
Depends on your assets, future assets and what state you are in. In California and Utah, the courts are now allowed to award the following: everything but $20,000 in equity in your home, savings and any other liquid assets, AND up to 1/3 of your wages for up to 10 YEARS. You should discuss...

If my grndpa is a military vet, am i eligable for auto insurance discounts?
No.Your grandfathers status as a vet has absolutely nothing to do with you.Your rates are based on your: age, credit rating, driving history, motor vehicle report, type of vehicle etc. None of these things has anything to do with your grandfather. He is in no way, shape or form a factor in...