Was convicted of a dui and now have a motorcycle do i need insurance?

Was convicted of a dui and now have a motorcycle do i need insurance?

I was needing to have an fr44. The loophole here is that in the state of florida one does not need insurance while driving a motorcycle. Am i still required to have an fr44 (sr22)? Moreover, if i choose to not have insurance for three years and not drive, will i still need the fr44 for three years anyway?

Rick

An SR-22 isn't a type of insurance coverage, but rather proof that you have insurance.It is notification from your insurance company to the DMV that you have auto liability insurance in effect in the State of California which satisfies the minimum insurance coverage required by the State.This insurance notification is typically required by the State for 3 years from the date the original suspension would have ended which can be determined, e.g., by adding 4 months from the date you were given the "pink" temporary license (assuming you are a first offender without a refusal of the chemical test).If your policy lapses for any reason (miss a payment, get cancelled) the insurance carrier is REQUIRED to notify the DMV who is supposed to then notify you that you will have to file another SR-22 with them by a certain date or your license will be suspended. This form, typically filed electronically, is the only form the The Department of Motor Vehicles will accept. They will not accept any other form as a substitute for the SR-22.When is the SR 22 required?This will be required by you if:(1) you were arrested for a DUI and-(2) you have your license suspended or restricted and/or-(3) if you are required to take a DUI program and-(4) you want to get a restricted license.To get a restricted license, you have to do 3 things:(Not immediately - only if you lose your DMV hearing or get convicted in Court)(1) Pay DMV re-issue fee(s).(2) Provide DMV proof of financial responsibility (SR-22).(3) Provide DMV proof of enrollment in approved DUI program.Insurance minimums in California:For private passenger vehicles per accident: $15,000 for injury/death to one person.$30,000 for injury/death to more than one person.$5,000 for damage to property.Moving to Another State:If you currently have an SR-22 and want to move to another state you must maintain the SR-22 like you still live in California - even though you no longer reside here. Also, your insurance policy for the new state must have liability minimums required by law in California. This applies even if you move to one of the states that does not have SR-22 insurance: Delaware, Kentucky, Minnesota, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Pennsylvania.Already convicted and need a license?First, make sure you are eligible for at least a restricted license by calling the California DMV at 1 (800) 777-0133. Then follow the steps above.Other related information:If you insurance company cancels your insurance because of your conviction, you will receive a notice indicating that your vehicle registration will be suspended if new insurance information is not submitted within 45 days.Already agreed to enter a guilty plea or didn't request a DMV hearing?If you think you are going to be convicted, make sure you contact an insurance broker BEFORE the conviction appears on your record. A skilled insurance broker can often times save you from being cancelled or having your insurances rates double (typical through State Farm for example) once a DUI conviction appears on your record.Additionally, you should know that although your SR 22 can be filed electronically you should be able to get an original from your insurance company and hand deliver it to the DMV so that you don't have to wait for the clerks in Sacramento to do their job - which they do slowly.I recommend calling John MacDonald at 1 800 346 7370 for all of your insurance needs. John MacDonald InsuranceOr, Generally, How to Downshift Your Insurance Costs with Smarter, Cheaper Coverage1) Nab DiscountsMost insurers offer price cuts for such things as:- having anti-lock brakes-- having been accident-free-- having taken a defensive-driving course-- using the same insurer for your home policy.(For more info., visit the auto insurance checklist at http://iii.org/individuals/auto .)These can take up to 25% off your premium. But your insurer usually will not come to you with them so you have to call the company and find out what the discounts are.2) Raise your deductible.The point of vehicle insurance is to protect you from catastrophic costs (your emergency fund should cover stuff like dents and broken windows). Raise your deductible from say $200 to $1,000 and you could save more than 40% on premiums, according to the Insurance Information Institute.3) Prune coverage on old vehicles.Once your vehicle is worth less than 10 times what you pay each year to insure it, get rid of the comprehensive and collision. Find your vehicle's estimated worth at www.kbb.com.4) Dig up competing quotes.This is the most work but could have the greatest payoff. Go to www.naic.org to find your state insurance commission website, where you can download a vehicle insurance buying guide.Pick the example closest to you and the 5 insurers with the lowest rates. Call them for quoSource(s):http://www.sandiegodrunkdrivingattorney.…

Thomas

You say in the state of Florida you "don't need insurance" to drive a motorcycle. That sounds a little far fetched - but may be true. Just because you "don't have insurance" doesn't eliminate your financial responsibility. if you hit a pedestrian and break their leg - or worse - you will be financially responsible for the expenses. They can sue you in court and get a judgment against you to pay damages. That's what insurance defends you from.

mustanger

So when I'm in FL if I get hit by a motorcyclist he most likely won't have insurance? One more reason to avoid the sunshine state. Since when is a motorcycle not dangerous?Source(s):Thank God not all states are ruled by idiots.

Ask

insurance

Popular Q&A

Does anyone know of an auto insurance provider that does not require a credit check in Vancouver, WA?
Leader Infinity will waive the credit check if you want, but then they'll give you the most expensive rates, so it's not like you'll get the same rate with a score of 550, as someone with an 800. You won't. Even if you had an 800 score, if you ask them to waive the credit check, you get the...

What specifically did ralph nader in the 2000 elections?
He didn't loose the election for the democrats. They just used him for an excuse as to why they lost. The democrats were trying to say is that some of the people who would have voted for Gore instead voted for Ralph Nader. They claim that if he didn't run that then those people that voted for...

How much do you pay for Insurance in your state?
Typically, insurance rates will vary from State to State and can even vary by ZIPCODE! It also will depend on the type of car/truck, coverages, limits of liability, and driving record. SOme companies run credit scorees and MOST run a motor vehicel report and CLUE (Comprehensive Loss Underwriting...

Is GEICO car insurance any good in terms of their service level?
As an insurance agent myself, I'd say that almost every insurance company is going to give you a deal if you put your home and auto together. (renters insurance is considered a homeowners policy). You might try Donegal Insurance if you live in the northeast, or Ohio Casualty. Cumberland Insurance...

What's the cheapest auto insurance provider in California?
The best way to find the cheapest auto insurance provider in your particular state is to use an insurance broker. Typically, they can compare a bunch of different providers in your area and give you the best deal.I called 1-888-497-0801 and receive a great deal. They provided plenty of quotes...