Is it the law in North Carolina to have auto insurance?

Is it the law in North Carolina to have auto insurance?

I am moving from florida and it is the law here. I was just wondering. Also, what is the penalty if you get caught without insurance?

Below is a FAQ's on North Carolina auto insurance laws:What type of automobile liability insurance am I required to have?According to North Carolina auto insurance law, you are required to have Bodily injury liability and Property damage liability.What are the minimum liability limits?According to North Carolina auto insurance law, the minimum amount of liability coverage needed for personal injury is $30,000 person and $60,000 per accident.The minimum amount of liability coverage needed for property damage is $25,000. This will usually appear on the policy in the form 20/60/25.TopWhen will I be required to present proof of Insurance?Never.Will my insurer required to verify the validity of my insurance policy?Yes. Your insurance company is required to inform the Department of Motor Vehicle if you cancel or fail to renew your auto insurance policy. What is more, insurers in North Carolina are required to submit thier entire list of insurance policies in force, which could be compared to motor vehicle registrations.The best way to get insurance information, though, is from a qualified insurance agent. I would suggest going to http://www.insureme.com/landing.aspx?Ref… It’s a web site that offers insurance information & information on policies nationwide. It also gives you the option to call local agents to get any of your questions answered. This service is 100% free and you are not obligated to buy anything. It is simply a way to get insurance information and be able to instantly compare rates in your area to find the best price/coverage.Take care – Ron at InsureMeSource(s):http://www.autocarinsurancequoter.com/no…

Guest

If you hit someone and can't pay because you're not insured, your penalty is the rest of your life having financial troubles, if not prisoned because you can't pay up.And, hitting someone can be VERY expensive.So, be wise and take your insurance.

Ask

insurance

Popular Q&A

So if I am turning 18 in November I can just go to the DMV in New Jersey and get my license & not get the perm?
- What state do you live in ?- What do you mean license & not perm ?- At 18 you can go to DMV in any state and get a learners permit.

Can insurance be called off even though a claim was reported? ?
We are talking about HER insurance. Yes, let them handle it. They will then subrogate, meaning come after you for whatever they paid on her behalf. This could include car rental, or possible "supplemental" charges from the body shop. They are likely in the best position to get the best...

Driving to Toronto from Chicago?
I have driven the Chicago to Toronto route many times.Take the 94 highway through Indiana into Michigan. Then just a little past Battle Creek (Michigan), take the 69 highway north up through Lansing and Flint up to Port Huron (Michigan). There you will cross the border via the Blue Water bridge...

Can someone tell me in detail how to obtain an Ohio Insurance License to sell insurance?
Every state and province in North America governs themselves with their own laws and requirements for the insurance industry.Here is a link to the Ohio state insurance department: http://www.insurance.ohio.gov/Pages/defa…Depending on what type of insurance you want to sell (home? Auto? Life...

What are the top three car insurance companies in Ontario?
Regardless of who you decide to use, amounts will vary depending on what kind of coverage will you have. Just Liability?Collision?Theft?Vandalism? it all depends on your driving records, the state you live in and how long you are willing to search around...Just take some quotes online, phone...