Florida drivers: What will you be doing with your insurance now that no-fault is going away?

Florida drivers: What will you be doing with your insurance now that no-fault is going away?

I called my insurance company today (USAA) and found that since PIP will no longer be required, they won'-t be offering it. That means a lower premium for me, but less coverage. In response, I increased the limit on my medical coverage from $5000 to $10,000. (I mean the medical coverage on my auto insurance, not my health insurance at work.) Combined with a small increase in my uninsured motorist coverage, I'-m still saving about $85 over six months.Does this sound like the way to go?

la428282

Hey There,Im a claims adjuster in Florida and that sounds pretty good. 10k medpay will definately be a big help- but im hoping you have health insurance as well to fill in after that? 10k is very low if its your only coverage. however- in my opinion UM coverage is the most important coverage in the whole world.. i would consider more then a little increase in that.Think about it this way.. you know how many stupid drivers there are in florida w/o insurance...TONS. if you have a high UM coverage.. you are protecting yourself. That way you will never be without someone to go after for the intangibles ("pain and suffering") etc. Medpay only covers actual medical expenses... it doesnt cover anything above that if you get a permenant injury. UM covers anything BI would... BI is that nice big stash of cash that lawyers love to go after for injuries... b/c it includes things up above medical expenses.10k may seem like alot... but... man.. ive seen hits where someone just broke a foot or something... and they were up to 50k or so right there! UM can protect you from all this and put a little money in your pocket if the injury is permanent. Its a very selfish coverage haha... but sometimes you have to think about yourself and think about the worse case scenario you will be in.

Miss

You sound like you've got a plan there!I know, I'm so excited for October! Lots of my policyholders are going to be having some great decreases and I'm going to be talking all of them into getting at least 10k in Med Pay to make up for the loss of that coverage.You know, if you don't have Bodily Injury Liability right now, you might think to add it on since you're saving money! I know it's not required or anything, but I never give my customers any other options, haha.How exciting is this law change, eh? :)Source(s):I'm an Insurance Agent.

Ask

insurance

Popular Q&A

What insurance do you recomend we swich to?
My husband and I have a home and 3 cars. We recently got quotes from State Farm, All State, and Metlife. State Farm gave us the cheapest rate, based on insuring the house and all three cars together.I suggest you call several diferent insuance companies and get quotes from each. You can...

What is the new york law that says i have to surrender my license plates after i get my car registered in anot?
Vehicle and Traffic Act (VAT), Article 6, § 312, et seq. requires you to surrender your number plates and certificate of registration when your NYS auto insurance policy is cancelled. This is more or less automatic when you register your car in another state since your NYS policy won't meet...

Can anyone tell me how do you get cheap auto insurance rate and from what company or any website or link?
With all due respect, this gets asked many times every day and there's no answer to it...it depends on where you live, how much coverage you are going to want, who else is in the household, and the credit score of the owner Why not ring that phone number you saw on that billboard or on the...

List a lot of organizations other than sports please?
3M CompanySt. Paul, MNAbbott LaboratoriesAbbott Park, ILADMDecatur, ILAdvance Auto Parts, Inc.Roanoke, VAAdvanced Micro Devices, Inc.Sunnyvale, CAAetna Inc.Hartford, CTAffiliated Computer Services, Inc.Dallas, TXAflac IncorporatedColumbus, GAAGCO CorporationDuluth, GAAgilent Technologies, Inc...

How much does it cost for a dealer licenses so i can go to Auto Auctions?
You do not need a dealers license to go to these sales, you can get a builders license, this is much cheaper and much easier to apply for. You simply contact you department of motor vehicles and ask then the requirments for abuilders certificate and the costs, have them send you the paper work...